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A  P O O L  I S  B E I N G  C O N S T R U C T E D  O N  M Y  
P R O P E R T Y .  A M  I  R E Q U I R E D  T O  E R E C T  A  
S A F E T Y  B A R R I E R ?  
You are required to erect an approved safety barrier 
around property or pool prior to final  inspection of 
the pool.  The safety barrier must also be inspected 
and approved by the Building & Planning 
Department.  Failure to comply will result in the 
issuance of a $500 fine to the property owner. 

A R E  T H E R E  A D D I T I O N A L  I N S U R A N C E  
R E Q U I R E M E N T S ?  
You should be advised that if your day labor 
employees cause any damage to persons or 
property, or if any of your day labor employees 
are injured on the job, you are liable.  Your 
regular home insurance policy ordinarily does 
not cover this type of liability.  Please check 
with your insurance agent. 

W H A T  S H O U L D  B E  D O N E  B E F O R E  M A K I N G  
T H E  F I N A L  P A Y M E N T  T O  T H E  
C O N T R A C T O R ?  
The contractor should provide you proof of all final 
inspections that have been approved by the Building 
& Planning Department or provide a Certificate of 
Completion issued by the Village only if required.  
You can verify all inspection approvals have been 
obtained by calling the Pinecrest Permit Desk at 
(305) 234-2121 or visiting the Village’s web site, 
www.pinecrest-fl.gov. 
Additionally, you should request final release of 
liens from any individuals or firms who have 
provided labor, material or supplies, especially 

those who have sent you a “Notice to Owner” letter.  
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H O W  L O N G  I S  M Y  P E R M I T  V A L I D  F O R ,  A N D  A R E  I N S P E C T I O N S  R E Q U I R E D ?  

first entering into a contract 
to perform improvements.  A 
violation of this provision is a 
misdemeanor of the first 
degree and subsequent 
violation is a felony. 

 Section 489.126 requires 
that a contractor who 
receives money totaling 
more than 10% of the 
contract price for work on 
residential property must 
apply for the necessary 
permits within 30 days after 
payment is made and must 
start work within 90 days 
after all permits are issued, 
unless the person who made 
the payment has agreed to a 
longer period in writing. 

 Section 489.1425 requires 
the contractor to notify 
residential property owners 
of a recovery fund no later 
than the date the owner 
makes the initial payment 

It is also important to know that 
the 1995 Florida Legislature 
created the “Homebuyer’s 
Protection Act”.  This Act amends 
several sections of the Florida 
Statutes and was effective 
October 1, 1995.  Most of the 
provisions are directed at 
commercial construction although 
some do af fect  genera l 
construction.  The following are 
some of the key provisions of the 
act. 
 Section 489.1265(1) and (2), 

Florida Statutes, provide that 
a contractor may not enter 
into an agreement with or 
knowingly allow certifications 
to be used by a person who 
is not certified or registered. 

 Section 489.1265(3) provides 
that a contractor, except 
when working without 
compensation, may not 
o b t a i n  p e r m i t s  f o r 

construction work without 

and at the time final 
payment is made.  The 
contractor must inform the 
o w n e r  c l e a r l y  a n d 
conspicuously in writing of 
how and where to file a 
claim and an explanation 
of consumers rights under 
the Construction Industry 
Recovery Fund. 

 Section 713.165 provides 
the owner may request 
from the contractor a list of 
all subcontractors and 
suppliers.  This request 
must be in writing and 
delivered by registered or 
certified mail.  Within 10 
days after receipt of the 
writ ten request,  the 
contractor must furnish the 
list.  Failure to do so 
results in the forfeiture of 
the contractor’s right to 
assert a lien against the 
owner’s property. 

Permits will expire and become null and void if work authorized by such permits 
has not commenced within 180 days from issuance or has been suspended or 
abandoned at any time for a period of 180 days.  If the permit holder is unable to 
begin work and obtain an inspection within 180 days, a permit renewal is 
necessary prior to permit expiration. 

LICENSE & INSURANCE REQUIREMENT 

The Village requires contractors doing 
business within the Village to be licensed and 
insured.  By calling the Village’s Building and 
Planning Department, a resident can find out if 
a contractor has submitted proof of their 
license and insurance.  Licensed contractors 
must have general liability and worker’s 
compensation insurance in effect at all times. 

 A R E  T H E R E  A N Y  W A R N I N G  S I G N S  T H A T  T H E  H O M E O W N E R  
M A Y  B E  D E A L I N G  W I T H  A N  U N S C R U P U L O U S  C O N T R A C T O R ?  

Yes. Early warning signs could include: 
 A large down payment is required before work begins. 
 Many requests for money during early phases of construction. 
 A verbal contract only, as person is not willing to put all items in writing. 
 You are asked to make your check payable to an individual’s name or “cash”, or asked to make payment in cash. 
 The contractor suggests doing the work without permits or asks the homeowner to obtain the permit. 

NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT REQUIREMENT 

Florida’s Construction Lien Law (Chapter 713, Part 
One, Florida Statutes) requires the recording of a 
Notice of Commencement with the Clerk of the 
Courts for real property improvements greater than 
$2,500.  This notice must be signed by the 

property owner. 

Under Florida Law, those who work on private 
property or provide materials and are not paid, 
have a right to enforce a claim for payment against 
the property.  This claim is known as a construction 

lien. 

For your protection under the Construction Lien 
Law and to avoid the possibility of paying twice for 
improvements to real property, you must record a 
Notice of Commencement in the Clerk of the 
Court’s Office.  The Notice of Commencement 
must be signed by the owner contracting the 

improvement, and not by an agent. 

The Notice of Commencement must be completed 
and recorded within 90 days before starting work.  


